semis sOlaire

(2020-En cours)

Lenka Holìkovà et Ulises Matamoros

  • Tecniques mixtes

Un dispositif circulaire, qui fait l’analogie avec l'"étoile solaire", flotte sur un plan d’eau (celui en Amérique latine est appelé jagüey); "ce disque solaire" est placé en Mars, à l’intérieur du jagüey vide et monte avec la pluie comme le jagüey est rempli : les dispositifs électroniques mesurent le temps de remplissage avec des "variables" de température et d’humidité. En octobre, l’eau atteint son plus haut niveau, et la saison sèche revient : ce disque solaire alimente les cultures à sa surface en prenant l’eau emmagasinée dans le jagüey. Les disques enregistrent également le taux de descente en saison sèche.

 

"Semis sOlaire" est un projet d’Ulises Matamoros Ascención et Lenka Holíková qui est développé dans un site spécifique dans la communauté de Santa Inés Ahuatempan à travers le lien avec "Chasen Thajni, la maison de tous" : un espace communautaire indépendant, Construit en collaboration par les membres de la population Ngiba, pour offrir diverses activités artistiques et culturelles autour de la langue et de la tradition. Ces activités sont principalement destinées et gérées par la communauté, mais ouvertes au grand public.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Les « jagüeys » sont de petits barrages naturels ou artificiels qui emmagasinent l’eau pendant la saison des pluies; lorsque la saison des pluies se termine, les « jagüeys » sont pleins à la limite, mais lorsque les sécheresses arrivent, ils se vident rapidement, en raison des conditions climatiques dans la région (semi-aride avec des températures en période de sécheresse atteignant 37°), ces déterminations conditionnent, outre le manque d’eau pour la consommation humaine, le manque d’eau pour un certain type de culture qui ne peut être cultivé qu’en saison des pluies.

 

"Semis sOlaire" propose une possibilité de résistance à la sécheresse à travers deux noyaux : la production (poétique-artistique) et la recherche et la formation (pratique), ce dernier gère des ateliers de discussions et des rencontres communautaires pour la gestion de l’eau dans les « jagüeys ».

 

 

 

 

 

 

Le noyau de production (poétique-artistique), métamorphose le mouvement de l’étoile solaire et les cycles saisonniers au moyen d’un "disque solaire" qui sera placé avant la saison des pluies lorsque le « jagüey » sera sec, ce disque solaire montera avec l’eau qui est stockée : Les dispositifs électroniques alimentés par de petits panneaux solaires mesureront le temps de remplissage et d’abaissement de l’eau avec des "variables" de température et d’humidité. Quand les pluies sont terminées, mais qu’il y a de l’eau emmagasinée dans le « jagüey », les graines seront plantées sur des anneaux concentriques pensés comme des rainures artificielles qui font partie du même « disque solaire », ces anneaux sont remplis de trois types de terre : terre noire, blanche et rouge (terres particulières de la région).

 

Lorsque l’eau s’épuisera, ce cercle reviendra à la position initiale de repos sur le sol, au fond du jagüey et sera récupéré pour remplir un autre cycle. Il symbolise la possibilité de "verdir" même en période de décroissance ou de sécheresse.

Activités :

I. Formation formelle de la "commission pour le maintien de la Jagüey "El Recorte", cette commission est composée d’artistes, de participants et de collaborateurs de "Chasen Thajni" et de la communauté intéressée : à partir de l’œuvre collective, planifie et exécute diverses activités de ce projet. 

II. Nettoyage et entretien du « jagüey » avant la saison des pluies.

III. Mesure du site à partir de relevés. 

IV. Développement de la technologie et de la production de disques solaires.

V. Essais technologiques et recomposition des éléments dysfonctionnels. 

VI. Intervention sur le site spécifique, en plaçant le disque solaire dans le « jagüey ». 

VII.

Activités menées par des experts locaux (Ngibas), axées sur la gestion traditionnelle de l’eau et des cultures

• Formation par des professionnels dans le domaine des technologies hydrologiques et agronomiques. VIII. Enregistrement des activités et production de rapports mensuels.

Produits :

I. Disque solaire : Il s’agit d’un dispositif circulaire de type sculpture de 10 m de diamètre sur 50 cm.

 

  • Description technologique du disque solaire :

o Capteur de température HT11

o Capteur d’humidité/hygromètre de sol WET2 o Capteur de température et d’humidité de l’air DLSHT35002

o Trois micro-pompes à eau submersibles qui puisent l’eau et arrosent la culture à sa surface.

o Tous ces appareils sont commandés par un RASPBERRY PI4 et alimentés par un panneau solaire situé sur la surface du disque.

  • Description constructive du disque solaire:

o La couche inférieure flotte sur tout le corps et est structurée par des hexagones flottants en plastique qui sont reliés mécaniquement. Ces hexagones seront réalisés exprofeso pour cette pièce en plastique PET recyclé. 

o La couche supérieure est une structure circulaire qui est montée sur la base flottante et qui est faite de "cuilotes" : matériau endémique que les Ngibas utilisent pour construire leurs maisons, est de haute résistance et de légèreté particulière, en plus d’être flexible. Cette couche a trois espaces circulaires conçus pour placer des pots en bio textile.

o La doublure recouvrant la couche supérieure mentionnée ci-dessus est composée de trois niveaux : Une maille de rétention de sédiments / une maille géotextile et une maille anti-mauvaises herbes rouges (qui est placée uniquement là où la plantation n’est pas située).

o Trois compartiments circulaires servent à semer des graines de trois plantes endémiques à la région et essentielles à l’alimentation locale : maïs, haricots et courges. Ces graines représentent une sélection de différentes cultures de Santa Inés Ahuatempan. Les graines sont plantées dans les pots et placées dans les cercles destinés à cet effet. 

II. Dossiers photographiques et vidéo de l’intervention artistique. 

III. Tirages photographiques en format physique (divers supports et procédés d’impression). 

IV. Une série de 20 dessins en graphite sur papier coton.

V. Une série de 20 aquarelles sur papier coton.

 

VI. Une série de plantes et d’échantillons de graines cultivées exposées dans des boîtes en bois, comme des objets minimalistes. 

VII. Tableaux et graphiques représentant visuellement l’information recueillie par les dispositifs électroniques installés dans le cercle solaire.

Depuis l’époque préhispanique, les Ngibas (aussi appelés "popolocas") survivent principalement grâce à l’agriculture. La culture traditionnelle consistait et continue de consister à planter du maïs, des haricots et des courges. La plantation a lieu pendant la saison des pluies, mais les méthodes d’irrigation ne sont utilisées qu’exceptionnellement. Il y a une forte dépendance au cycle climatique dont les irrégularités viennent influencer la vie quotidienne de la communauté.

Sur la base de ce qui précède, "semis sOlaire" fait un commentaire poétique sur les cycles saisonniers, l’eau et l’agriculture, mais à partir d’axes tangentiels tente également d’avoir un impact efficace : former une communauté de travail constant, pour pouvoir agir efficacement, résoudre le problème de la rareté de l’eau pour la culture à travers un travail collectif dans les « jagüeys » locaux, mais aussi travailler à les garder propres et dégraissés pour garder l’eau qui s’accumule en temps de pluie, en minimisant les quantités perdues par filtration ou évaporation. Un autre axe tangentiel, est l’étude des moyens de cultiver dans la saison des sécheresses, et de diversifier la culture; recours à la culture mixte de plantes originaires de la région.

Les cultures traditionnelles, y compris la culture Ngiba, ont des connaissances et des connaissances d’une valeur énorme. Sa vision de la vie, de l’environnement, de la nature est mystique; elle n’est pas fondée sur la science, comme le fait le monde occidental. Sa vision est inimaginable pour le savoir institutionnalisé, et peut apporter de l’enrichissement, en fournissant des solutions originales et d’autres moyens de développement à partir de son travail traditionnel : par exemple, la solution à la gestion, le traitement de l’eau et la récolte.

Nous partons du savoir ancestral, posé par les membres de la communauté eux-mêmes, pour les relier aux pratiques actuelles et fournir des résolutions locales, qui affectent le monde, telles que les problèmes de sécheresse et l’évaporation de l’eau dans les « jagüeys », de cette façon, les membres de la communauté ne seront pas obligés de modifier radicalement leurs pratiques traditionnelles ou de les remplacer par une tâche étrangère à leur culture et à leur pensée; ils enrichiront simplement leur façon de travailler, la rendront plus efficace, sans en abandonner l’essence. La connexion de ces deux perspectives différentes peut générer des échanges symboliques, culturels et économiques.

sOlar seeding

(2020-in progress)

Lenka Holìková and Ulises Matamoros

  • Mixed Media

A circular device, which making analogy to the "solar star", floats on a body of water (that in Latin America is called jagüey); "this solar disk" is placed in March, inside the empty jagüey and ascends with the rain as the jagüey is filled: electronic devices measure the time of filling with "variables" of temperature and humidity. In October the water reaches its highest level, and the dry season returns: this solar disk feeds crops on its surface by taking the water stored in the jagüey. The discs also record the rate of descent in the dry season

 

 

"sOlar seeding" is a project by Ulises Matamoros Ascención and Lenka Holíková that is developed in a specific site in the community of Santa Inés Ahuatempan through the link with "Chasen Thajni, the house of all": an independent community space, Built in a collaborative way by members of the Ngiba population, to offer diverse artistic and cultural activities around language and tradition. These activities are primarily aimed at and managed by the community, but open to the general public.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

“Jagüeys” are small natural or artificial dams that store water in the rainy season; when the rainy season ends the “jagüeys” are full to the limit, but when the droughts arrive they empty quickly, due to the climatic conditions in the area (semi-arid with temperatures in times of drought reaching 37°), these determinations condition, in addition to the lack of water for human consumption, the lack of water for a certain type of crop that can be grown only in the rainy season.

"sOlar seeding" proposes a possibility of drought resistance through two cores: production (poetic-artistic) and research and training (practical), the latter manages workshops talks and community meetings for water management in “jagüeys”.

 

 

 

 

 

 

The nucleus of production (poetic-artistic), metamorphoses the movement of the solar star and the seasonal cycles by means of a "solar disk" that will be placed before the rainy season when the “jagüey” is dry, this solar disk will ascend with the water that is stored: Electronic devices powered by small solar panels will measure the time of filling and lowering of water with "variables" of temperature and humidity. When the rains are over, but there is water stored in the “jagüey”, the seeds will be planted on concentric rings thought as artificial grooves that are part of the same "solar disk", these rings are filled with three types of earth: black, white and red earth (particular lands of the region).

 

 

 

When the water runs out this circle will return to the initial resting position on the ground, at the bottom of the jagüey and will be recovered to fulfill another cycle. It symbolizes the possibility of "greening" even in times of decay or drought.

Activities:

I. Formal formation of the "commission for the maintenance of the Jagüey “El Recorte", this commission is composed of artists, participants and collaborators of "Chasen Thajni" and interested community: starting from the collective work, plans and performs various activities of this project.

II. Cleaning and maintenance of the “jagüey” before the rainy season.

III. Site measurement from surveying.

IV. Development of solar disk technology and production.

V. Technological testing and recomposition of dysfunctional elements.

 

VI. Intervention at the specific site, placing the solar disk in the “jagüey”.

VII. Conduct workshops, trainings and practical exercises for the community:

• Activities conducted by local experts (Ngibas), focusing on traditional water and crop management

• Training by professionals in the field of hydrological and agronomic technologies.

VIII. Recording of activities and production of monthly reports.

Products:

I. Solar disk:

• Is a circular sculpture-like device 10 m in diameter by 50 cm.

• Technological description of the solar disk:

o An HT11 temperature sensor

o WET2 soil moisture/hygrometer sensor

o DLSHT35002 air temperature and humidity sensor

o Three micro submersible water pumps that draw water and water the crop on its surface.

o All these devices are controlled by a RASPBERRY PI4 and powered by solar panel located on the surface of the disc.

• Constructive description of the solar disk:

o Bottom layer floats the entire body and is structured by floating plastic hexagons that are mechanically connected. These hexagons will be made exprofeso for this piece from recycled PET plastic.

o The upper layer is a circular structure that is mounted on the floating base and that is made of "cuilotes": endemic material that the Ngibas use to build their houses, is of high strength and of particular lightness, in addition to being flexible. This layer has three circular spaces designed to place pots made of bio textile. o The lining covering the upper layer mentioned above is composed of three levels: A sediment retention mesh/ a geotextile mesh and a red weed-proof mesh (which is placed only where the plantation is not located). o Three circular compartments serve to sow seeds of three plants endemic to the region and essential for local food: corn, beans and squash. These seeds represent a selection of different crops from Santa Inés Ahuatempan. The seeds are planted in the pots and placed in the circles intended for this purpose.

 

II. Photographic and video records of the artistic intervention.

 

III. Photographic prints in physical format (various media and printing processes).

 

IV. A series of 20 graphite drawings on cotton paper.

 

V. A series of 20 watercolours on cotton paper.

 

VI. A series of plants and samples of cultivated seeds displayed in wooden boxes, as minimalist objects.

 

VII. Tables and graphs visually representing the information collected by the electronic devices installed in the solar circle.

From pre-Hispanic times, the Ngibas (also called "popolocas") subsist mainly thanks to agriculture. Traditional cultivation consisted and continues to consist of the planting of corn, beans and squash. Planting takes place in the rainy season, only exceptionally are irrigation methods used. There is a strong dependence on the climate cycle whose irregularities come to influence the daily life of the community, by the zero variety of crops in times of drought.

Based on the above, "sOlar seeding" makes a poetic comment regarding seasonal cycles, water and agriculture, but from tangential axes also tries to impact effectively: forming a community of constant work, to be able to act effectively, solving the problem of water scarcity for cultivation through collective work in the local “jagüeys”, but also working to keep them clean and degreased to keep the water that accumulates in rainy time, minimizing the amounts lost by filtration or evaporation. Another tangential axis, is the investigation regarding means to cultivate in the season of droughts, and to diversify the cultivation; resorting to mixed cultivation of plants originating in the region.

Members of the Ngiba Community of Santa Inés Ahuatempan, farmers, peasants, professionals in the field of indigenous hydrology and agronomy of the community, and all people interested in maintaining the “jagüeys” for their collective use and common good; as well as people interested in growing native species for domestic use.

The Project is designed and managed by members of the Ngiba community, who particularly inhabit the neighborhoods of San Antonio Tierra Negra and Tierra Colorada, neighborhoods historically excluded, even by the “Mexicas”, before the Spanish arrival. The gender dimension caused and continues to cause double exclusion, particularly among women, limiting their activity to domestic work and excluding them from all political activity. This project enriches the work and the areas of action and transformation of their environment, by adding a little to the difficult task of freedom, equity and decisionmaking in areas that are traditionally delegated to the "male"

Traditional cultures, including Ngiba culture, have knowledge and knowledge of enormous value. His outlook on life, the environment, nature, is mystical; it is not based on science, as the Western world does. Its vision is unimaginable for institutionalized knowledge, and can bring enrichment, providing original solutions and other ways of development from its traditional work: for example, the solution to management, water treatment and harvesting

We start from ancestral knowledge, posed by the members of the community themselves, to connect them with current practices and provide local resolutions, which affect the global, such as the problems of drought and the evaporation of water in “jagüeys”, in such a way, members of the community will not be forced to drastically modify their traditional practices or replace them with a task foreign to their culture and thinking; they will simply enrich their way of working, make it more effective, without abandoning its essence. The connection of these two different perspectives can generate symbolic, cultural and economic exchanges.